Access Keys:
Skip to content (Access Key - 0)

Duo Remember My Device for 30 Days FAQ

Updated April 7th 2020

Currently users are not able to choose the option to “remember me for 30 days” when using Safari. This is a known issue with the Duo API that the Safari uses. Changes have been initiated so MIT's Duo should work when authenticating with SMS or phone calls. However, the issue still persists when trying to use the PUSH option.

We can report the following at this time:

  • This issue only occurs with Safari (Duo appears to work with Chrome, Edge, and Firefox with all authentication methods with no issues)
  • The current solution for using Duo on Safari is to use the phone call/SMS notifications to authenticate and will only work in the latest version of Safari (version 13.1) This version is only available on versions of macOS that Apple officially supports (10.13, 10.14, 10.15)
  • On Safari 13.1, you must disable the "Prevent cross-site tracking" option. This is stated by Duo as a requirement (https://help.duo.com/s/article/2189?language=en_US)
  • Duo currently does not have an ETA on when the “push” feature will be resolved at this time.

On this page:

Q: How do I forget the Duo setting to Remember My Device for 30 Days?

The setting is stored as a cookie named api-nnnnnnnn.duosecurity.com1 or duosecurity.com. Find and delete the cookie in your browser. Upon next launch of a Duo-enabled site, you will be prompted to authenticate with Duo.

For browser-specific instructions on how to access its saved cookies, please see:

Q: How do I set Duo to prompt me for two-factor authentication only once every 30 days?

  1. Navigate to any page where you will be prompted to authenticate via Touchstone and choose the method of authentication that you prefer. All of these will also prompt you for DUO Two Factor authentication.
    Initial Touchstone Authentication
  2. Once you are in the Duo Authentication page, click the check box at the bottom that reads Remember me for 30 days.
    Duo Factor Authentication
  3. After you have fully authenticated, your browser will not require you to do this again when you come back at a later session (within the 30 day period).
    Duo logging in automatically

Q: I have selected Remember My Device for 30 Days. Why am I still being prompted for Duo authentication?

The Remember My Device feature relies on a browser cookie from duosecurity.com. Your Internet browser must allow cookies from the duosecurity.com domain to be stored on your computer in order for the feature to work. 

  • Cookie settings can be found in Safari under Safari > Preferences > Privacy
  • In Firefox by going to Firefox > Preferences > Privacy > Firefox Will: Use Custom Settings for History
  • In Internet Explorer at Tools > Internet Options > Privacy. Adjust the slider for the Internet zone to allow third-party cookies to be stored.
  • In Chrome under Settings >  Show advanced settings > Content settings

IS&T Contributions

Documentation and information provided by IS&T staff members


Last Modified:

April 11, 2020

Get Help

Request help
from the Help Desk
Report a security incident
to the Security Team
Labels:
c-duo c-duo Delete
30 30 Delete
remember remember Delete
Enter labels to add to this page:
Please wait 
Looking for a label? Just start typing.
Feedback
This product/service is:
Easy to use
Average
Difficult to use

This article is:
Helpful
Inaccurate
Obsolete
Adaptavist Theme Builder (4.2.3) Powered by Atlassian Confluence 3.5.13, the Enterprise Wiki