Access Keys:
Skip to content (Access Key - 0)

How do Drupal Cloud websites get deactivated?

 

User Deactivation

Drupal Cloud websites are tracked in moira, with a single "owner of record". After the annual deactivation process deactivates user accounts, the Drupal Cloud maintainers examine the Drupal Cloud websites owned by deactivated users, and transfer them to new ownership or delete them.

We examine several criteria to determine the outcome:

  • Sites that appear to be test/development/sandbox sites, or unbuilt sites with no top level content are removed.
  • Sites that are resume or personal sites, owned by the user who is being deactivated are removed.
  • For sites that are published content belonging to departments, labs or student groups, we make a best effort to find an appropriate new owner. This is usually done by reaching out to the contact address given on the site or the other content managers for the site.

Transferring Ownership

If you own a Drupal Cloud site, and you wish to transfer "owner of record" status to another party, please send a request to drupalcloud@mit.edu.

You may make as many "content manager" users on your Drupal Cloud site as you wish (and these users may be non-MIT account holders with a password). This is done using Drupal's account management while logged into the Drupal interface. As a nightly automated process, the "owner of record" for a site will be added as a content manager, if they are not already one. Content managers are not automatically removed from Drupal Cloud sites.

Exporting Content

Saving a copy of a Drupal Cloud site so that it can be loaded as a Drupal website elsewhere is possible, but is a manual request that must be handled by Application Delivery staff. Contact drupalcloud@mit.edu.

If you request an Export, you will get a Drupal install and a MySQL database dump. It is not easy to examine the content without a full Drupal hosting environment (with Apache, PHP and MySQL). We will not be able to reload this content onto Drupal Cloud in the future.

Archival Backups

We save archival backups of all Drupal Cloud websites every six months, but as with the content export, we generally cannot re-load a backup more than 4-6 weeks after it was created.

IS&T Contributions

Documentation and information provided by IS&T staff members


Last Modified:

March 22, 2017

Get Help

Request help
from the Help Desk
Report a security incident
to the Security Team
Labels:
deactivation deactivation Delete
drupalcloud drupalcloud Delete
c-drupal-cloud c-drupal-cloud Delete
accounts-review accounts-review Delete
Enter labels to add to this page:
Please wait 
Looking for a label? Just start typing.
Feedback
This product/service is:
Easy to use
Average
Difficult to use

This article is:
Helpful
Inaccurate
Obsolete
Adaptavist Theme Builder (4.2.3) Powered by Atlassian Confluence 3.5.13, the Enterprise Wiki