A course from a previous term or one that has been concluded enters a read-only state and no longer appears on your course dashboard. Past courses are deleted. (See also: How long will I be able to access a Canvas site?)
To view a past course, click Courses on the left menu, and then "All Courses". Screenshots and further information can be found here.