Access Keys:
Skip to content (Access Key - 0)

Q: How long will my account remain active after I have left MIT?



Accounts are usually deactivated once a year in January, based on lists received from Personnel and the Registrar. The IS&T Service Desk begins the process in the fall by issuing warnings to people who are on the list for deactivation. For example, if you leave in July and do not make special arrangements, your account will be deactivated in seven months (the following January). If you leave in October, your account's default deactivation would be fifteen months later.

You may contact the IS&T Service Desk ( or 617-253-1101) to have your account removed earlier or to make other arrangements, such as sponsorship.

If you are using a departmental email address (e.g.,, you will need to get deactivation information from your local IT department.

Related Links

Alumni Email Forwarding for Life.

IS&T Contributions

Documentation and information provided by IS&T staff members

Last Modified:

July 25, 2017

Get Help

Request help
from the Help Desk
Report a security incident
to the Security Team
c-accounts c-accounts Delete
email_account email_account Delete
account account Delete
email email Delete
active active Delete
termination termination Delete
access access Delete
accounts-review accounts-review Delete
Enter labels to add to this page:
Please wait 
Looking for a label? Just start typing.
This product/service is:
Easy to use
Difficult to use

This article is:
Adaptavist Theme Builder (4.2.3) Powered by Atlassian Confluence 3.5.13, the Enterprise Wiki