Access Keys:
Skip to content (Access Key - 0)

How do I remove a student from the class site's membership list?

Only someone who has been manually added to the site can be removed from the membership list by an administrator, instructor or TA. Someone who was automatically added to the site by the data feed from the registrar may be blocked from accessing the site until the add/drop request has been processed.

Removing someone from a Stellar site

If the administrator, instructor or TA do not want someone to access the site, and they were manually added to the site, they can remove them from the membership list.

Follow these instructions for removing someone from a Stellar site:

  1. The instructor, TA or administrator needs to log into the Stellar course site and click on the link for Membership.
  2. On the Membership page, ask them to click on the tab for Access Control.
  3. Select the tab for the group they wish to remove the person from (administrators, instructors, participants, TAs, graders or guests).
  4. Select the check box next to the person's name under the remove column.
  5. Click Submit at the bottom of the page.

Blocking someone from a Stellar site

If someone has dropped the class but hasn't been automatically removed from the Official Class List by the registrar yet, then the instructor, TA or administrator has the option to block the person from the class.

When someone drops a class, the Registrar removes the name from the class list. There may be a delay in the Registrar's processing of the data, particularly at the start of a semester. During this interim period, an instructor can effectively remove the person from the list if they complains of receiving class email or if the instructor wants to block access for someone no longer enrolled in the class.

Follow these instructions to block someone from the Stellar site:

  1. On the navigation bar, click Membership.
  2. On the Membership page, click the Block link next to the student's name.
  3. On the Block Student page, click Block.

The person's name remains on the list with a Blocked label and an Unblock link to grant access again. The Block and Unblock actions have no effect on registration status. The student must submit paperwork to change that.

IS&T Contributions

Documentation and information provided by IS&T staff members


Last Modified:

December 01, 2016

Get Help

Request help
from the Help Desk
Report a security incident
to the Security Team
Labels:
c-stellar c-stellar Delete
block block Delete
remove remove Delete
drop drop Delete
grade grade Delete
Enter labels to add to this page:
Please wait 
Looking for a label? Just start typing.
Feedback
This product/service is:
Easy to use
Average
Difficult to use

This article is:
Helpful
Inaccurate
Obsolete
Adaptavist Theme Builder (4.2.3) Powered by Atlassian Confluence 3.5.13, the Enterprise Wiki