Access Keys:
Skip to content (Access Key - 0)

Q: Why can people sometimes join Zoom meetings I've already ended?

On this page:

Answer

Links to single, non-recurring meetings are valid for 30 days from the scheduled time of the meeting. That means that even if the host "ends" the meeting, somebody with the link can still join it unless the "Join Before Host" option is disabled.

If you will be unable to attend the meeting and still want it to occur, you will need to designate an alternative host who will attend.

You can disable "Join Before Host" two ways.

Disabling Join Before Host When Scheduling a Meeting

When scheduling a meeting:

  1. Open the "Advanced Options"
  2. Make sure the checkbox by "Join Before Host" is deselected.

Change Your Default Preferences

You can change your default meeting preferences to not allow join before host in meetings you host.

  1. Go to your "Settings" page in the portal: https://mit.zoom.us/profile/setting
  2. Turn off the "Join Before Host" option.



    This will not update the settings of any meetings you have already scheduled. Those will need to be edited if you want this setting to apply to them. See: How do I Update a Scheduled Zoom Meeting?

See Also

IS&T Contributions

Documentation and information provided by IS&T staff members


Last Modified:

April 09, 2020

Get Help

Request help
from the Help Desk
Report a security incident
to the Security Team
Labels:
c-zoom c-zoom Delete
Enter labels to add to this page:
Please wait 
Looking for a label? Just start typing.
Feedback
This product/service is:
Easy to use
Average
Difficult to use

This article is:
Helpful
Inaccurate
Obsolete
Adaptavist Theme Builder (4.2.3) Powered by Atlassian Confluence 3.5.13, the Enterprise Wiki