Access Keys:
Skip to content (Access Key - 0)

Q: What happens to my Dropbox for Business account when I leave MIT?



MIT Dropbox for Business accounts are retired as part of the existing account deactivation process. As much as technically possible, the process will mimic what happens to AFS lockers associated with an account that's in the deactivation process. Accounts are first suspended for a short period of time, which removes the ability to login, then deleted. Accounts may also be temporarily suspended due to violations of the rules of use or if the account is compromised.

Suspended Accounts

When an account is suspended, you will lose access to their MIT Dropbox account. This is because you will be unable to authenticate via Touchstone. Although inaccessible, the data in the Dropbox account will remain untouched, and become available again if the account is reinstated. Please note that sync’ed copies of the data will still exist on connected devices.

Deleted Accounts

When an account is deleted, the MIT Dropbox account will be deleted as well. The data in the MIT Dropbox account will be transferred to another account as an archive. Users should email for assistance with getting their data restored if their account is reactivated.

IS&T Contributions

Documentation and information provided by IS&T staff members

Last Modified:

March 25, 2017

Get Help

Request help
from the Help Desk
Report a security incident
to the Security Team
c-dropbox c-dropbox Delete
accounts-review accounts-review Delete
Enter labels to add to this page:
Please wait 
Looking for a label? Just start typing.
This product/service is:
Easy to use
Difficult to use

This article is:
Adaptavist Theme Builder (4.2.3) Powered by Atlassian Confluence 3.5.13, the Enterprise Wiki