MIT Dropbox for Business accounts are retired as part of the existing account deactivation process. As much as technically possible, the process will mimic what happens to AFS lockers associated with an account that's in the deactivation process. Accounts are first suspended for a short period of time, which removes the ability to login, then deleted. Accounts may also be temporarily suspended due to violations of the rules of use or if the account is compromised.
When an account is suspended, you will lose access to their MIT Dropbox account. This is because you will be unable to authenticate via Touchstone. Although inaccessible, the data in the Dropbox account will remain untouched, and become available again if the account is reinstated. Please note that sync’ed copies of the data will still exist on connected devices.
When an account is deleted, the MIT Dropbox account will be deleted as well. The data in the MIT Dropbox account will be transferred to another account as an archive. Users should email firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance with getting their data restored if their account is reactivated.