Accounts are usually deactivated once a year in January, based on lists received from Personnel and the Registrar. The IS&T Service Desk begins the process in the fall by issuing warnings to people who are on the list for deactivation. For example, if you leave in July and do not make special arrangements, your account will be deactivated in seven months (the following January). If you leave in October, your account's default deactivation would be fifteen months later.
If you are using a departmental email address (e.g., email@example.com), you will need to get deactivation information from your local IT department.