Access Keys:
Skip to content (Access Key - 0)

Enable FileVault (whole disk encryption) on OSX 10.9 and up

Primer

Please consult with your System Administrator before enabling FileVault on your machine.

Instructions

  1. Navigate to System Preferences.
    Apple > System preferences

  2. Select Security & Privacy from the main System Preferences window.
    System preferences screen

  3. Choose the tab labeled FileVault and click the lock icon in the lower left-hand corner of the Security & Privacy window.
    FileVault preferences

  4. When prompted, authenticate with your user account username and password.
    Authentication screen

  5. You will again find yourself at the Security & Privacy window. Click the button labeled Turn on FileVault....
    FileVault preferences screen

  6. If there are multiple users accounts on this machine you will be prompted to give additional users access. All users that need the ability to use this machine should be given disk access-rights by clicking the button labeled Enable user..., entering that user's password, and clicking the button labeled Continue.
    Enable users screen

  7. The following screen will display the disk's recovery key. If a disk password is lost or forgotten this is the ONLY WAY to recover the data on the encrypted disk. Please write this 24 character string down and store it in a secure place. Click the button labeled Continue.
  8. You may also be asked to store the key in Casper. Select yes to have it stored with IS&T, who can then retrieve the key for you later. This is not required.
    Disk recovery key

  9. OS X will display a prompt asking if you wish to store your recovery key with Apple. Select the radio button labeled Do not store the recovery key with Apple and click the button labeled Continue.
    Apple recovery key storage message

  10. OS X will now prompt you to restart to enable FileVault and begin the whole disk encryption process. Click Restart.
    Restart message screen

  11. The login process now takes place when OS X reboots. This authentication serves two purposes: it unlocks the disk and logs the selected user in.
  12. Upon reboot, the Security & Privacy window will open again and display the amount of time remaining until the disk is fully encrypted. The machine can be used during this time period.
    Encryption progress bar

IS&T Contributions

Documentation and information provided by IS&T staff members


Last Modified:

October 05, 2017

Get Help

Request help
from the Help Desk
Report a security incident
to the Security Team
Labels:
filevault filevault Delete
osx osx Delete
filevault-on-osx filevault-on-osx Delete
c-encryption c-encryption Delete
encryption encryption Delete
macos macos Delete
sierra sierra Delete
Enter labels to add to this page:
Please wait 
Looking for a label? Just start typing.
Feedback
This product/service is:
Easy to use
Average
Difficult to use

This article is:
Helpful
Inaccurate
Obsolete
Adaptavist Theme Builder (4.2.3) Powered by Atlassian Confluence 3.5.13, the Enterprise Wiki