Dropbox shared links remain active even if you perform these actions:
- Rename a folder or file in your Dropbox
- Move a folder or file to another location in your Dropbox
With this functionality, you can keep your files organized and change folder and file names as needed, while maintaining the ability to collaborate with colleagues.
If you previously renamed or moved files in order to intentionally "break" a link (e.g. to prevent access to a shared file or folder), you will need to actually remove the shared link.